Formation of nine new Districts in the State of Chhattisgarh – Allotment of Lead Responsibility


On 15/08/2011, Chhattisgarh Chief Minister Raman Singh announced the creation of nine new districts. These nine districts – Sukma, Kondagaon, Gariaband, Balaudabazar, Balod, Bamtera, Mungeli, Surajpur and Balrampur,  came into existence w.e.f  on 01/01/2012.

The total numbers of administrative districts in the state are now 27. With the formation of the new districts, RBI had set in the motion for allotment of Lead Bank responsibility to the Banks.

On 10/10/2012, RBI vide Notification NO: RBI/2012-13/242-RPCD.CO.LBS.BC.No. 34/02.08.001/2012-13 finalized the allotment of the lead responsibility.

The lead bank responsibilities of the new districts are as detailed below:-

1 Sukma allotted to SBI

2 Kondagaon allotted to SBI

3 Balodabazar allotted to SBI

4 Gariyaband allotted to Dena Bank

5 Bemetara allotted to SBI

6 Balod allotted to Dena Bank

7 Mungeli allotted to SBI

8 Surajpur allotted to Central Bank of India

9 Balrampur allotted to Central Bank of India


Now, with the finalization of Lead Banks, the pace of the Financial Inclusion should pick up now. This would not  only increase the banking penetration but also enable banks to access new areas.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s